Millinery – Failure to Launch

Next week looks like it’s going to be a big week for Millinery launches. Its London Fashion Week .  Philip Treacy is a showing  for the first time  in years and the  Headonism exhibition at Somerset house is featuring ‘up and coming’ milliners. Williams Chambers ss13 look book is very strong – an evolution from his previous work rather than anything truly new, but all elegant and wearable.  http://2012.londonfashionweek.co.uk/uploads/documents/doc_4028.pdf .

In terms launching my own range, well, I am  busy  making hats . My bridal collection is coming along very nicely. I’m sorry to admit this is a delaying  tacit to avoid showing the world what I have made so far. There truth is the idea of marketing my own designs  is quite scary. What if no body notices my efforts? What if no body likes my work?

As a result  my marketing so far has been a little tentative to say the least . I’m now registered on lots of social media sites and I have posted about anything other than my hats.

That’s not very clever really. It’s time to be brave.  If nobody sees my work  – which I am in fact very proud of, then nobody will ever notice  my efforts , or like my work.  So here as toe in the water are two of my hats.  The rest will follow  soon as I have rejected the photography for my main range as ‘not professional enough’ ( last excuse, honest).